Broken Heart Attack by James J. Cudney – Guest Post and Giveaway

 

Synopsis: When an extra ticket becomes available to see the dress rehearsal of King Lear, Kellan tags along with Nana D and her buddies.

When one of them dies of an apparent heart attack in the middle of second act, Nana D raises her suspicions and asks Kellan to investigate the death. With family members suddenly in debt and a secret rendezvous between an unlikely pair, Kellan learns that the Paddingtons might not be as clean-cut as everyone thinks.

But can Kellan find the killer, or will he get caught up his own stage fright?

 

Continue reading

Advertisements

The Wrong Boy by Cathy Ace – Blog Tour and Giveaway

Perched on a Welsh clifftop, the ancient, picturesque hamlet of Rhosddraig has its peaceful façade ripped apart when human remains are discovered under a pile of stones. The village pub, The Dragon’s Head, run by three generations of women, becomes the focal point for those interested in the grisly find, and it’s where layers of deceit are peeled away to expose old secrets, and deep wounds. The police need to establish who died, how, and why, but DI Evan Glover knows he can’t be involved in the investigation, because he’s just two days away from retirement. However, as the case develops in unexpected ways, it becomes irrevocably woven into his life, and the lives of local families, leading to disturbing revelations – and deadly consequences . . .

Continue reading

Spotlight on the Callie’s Kitchen series by Jenny Kales (plus giveaway!)

Jenny Kales is the author of The Callie’s Kitchen Mystery Series, featuring Greek-American Calliope Costas, feisty food business owner and amateur sleuth, who lives in a scenic Wisconsin town with colorful characters and a high murder rate! Each book contains several delicious recipes, both Greek and American.

ON THE CHOPPING BLOCK is the debut book in the series, followed by SPICED AND ICED, SECRETS AND PIES, and a NEW BOXED SET. A STEW TO A KILL, Book 4 in the Callie’s Kitchen Mystery series, is now available for the Kindle and in paperback.

Jenny is an avid reader, cook and baker.  She is addicted to mystery TV shows like Miss Fisher and Midsomer Murders. Jenny lives just outside of Chicago with her husband, two daughters and one cute but demanding Yorkshire terrier. She’s hard at work on additional writing projects including more Callie’s Kitchen Mysteries and a new series. 

To buy the series: Amazon Author Page

Giveaway!

Jenny has been kind enough to offer one copy, paperback or Kindle edition, of any one of the Callie’s Kitchen mystery series. (US shipping only) Just leave a comment below with your favorite scenic town to visit. Make sure to leave your email address, or use the contact me form on the Book Review Policy page to send me your email address if you aren’t comfortable leaving it below. It will only be used to contact the winner!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is jenny-profile-pic.jpg

Keep up with author news for Jenny Kales by following her on social media:

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/jennykalesmysteryauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jennykales_author/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jenny_Kales

Visit her website at https://jennykales.wordpress.com/

The Killer Christmas Sweater Club by Terry Ambrose – Blog Tour & Giveaway


All ten-year-old Alexandra Atwood wants for Christmas is to get her dad and the B&B’s cook Marquetta under the mistletoe. After all, how can they get married if they don’t kiss first?

When murder strikes in Seaside Cove, bed-and-breakfast owner Rick Atwood is asked to help find the killer. But this will not be an easy case to crack. Not only did the killer contaminate the crime scene, but there are suspects all over town. And they all received the same Christmas sweater from the victim.

Alex hears rumors about the murder and decides that since she’s on Christmas break, she has time for a little multitasking. She launches her own investigation even as she continues her efforts to get her dad and Marquetta together.

Just when Rick thinks he’s identified all the suspects, he discovers a new one—his estranged wife. With the days until Christmas ticking down, Rick feels pressured from all sides. He needs to solve the case. He needs to send his wife back to New York. But the one thing he doesn’t need is for his daughter to be one step ahead of him and the cops.

Continue reading

Wreath Between the Lines by Daryl Wood Gerber – Recipe / Guest Post & Giveaway!

The Agatha Award–winning author of Pressing the Issue returns to the Cookbook Nook, where Jenna Hart is busy decking the halls and ducking a killer . . .

The holidays are Jenna Hart’s favorite time of year, but just as she’s decorating the Cookbook Nook for all the festive events, her imperious older sister makes a surprise visit, anxious that her husband’s been more naughty than nice. To make matters worse, her father’s good friend Jake shows up on her doorstep with a frantic report that his friend has been murdered—trussed with Christmas lights and impaled with a tree star.

Worried that Jake was the intended victim, Jenna makes a list of suspects and checks it twice. Swapping her Santa’s hat for a sleuthing cap, she gets busy investigating Jake’s long-lost sister, his Grinch of a neighbor, and a stamp collector who covets Jake’s most treasured piece. When Jake himself is poisoned and nearly dies, Jenna knows she’ll have to do whatever it takes to corner the culprit before it’s lights out for Jake . . .

Includes tantalizing holiday recipes!

Continue reading

The Last Note by Zaida Alfaro – Spotlight and #Giveaway

The Last Note: A Miami Music Mystery
by Zaida Alfaro

 

About the Book

The Last Note: A Miami Music Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Cozy Cat Press (January 24, 2018)
Paperback: 268 pages
ISBN-10: 1946063487
ISBN-13: 978-1946063489
Digital ASIN: B079T5H45S

Killer songs and a killer voice, but a killer at her gig?

Vy has always found herself at the center of attention as the lead singer for one of Miami’s top cover bands, but when she finds herself at the center of a murder investigation, while performing at the Steel Horse Bar, that changes the tune of the night. Someone believes that Vy knows the truth behind the murder of the bar owner Ricky, and now that person is after her. Vy better figure out quickly who wanted Ricky dead, who is threatening her with her favorite band’s song lyrics, and why she’s falling for the handsome Detective Houston, before she too sings her last note. With a mixture of mystery, mayhem and comedy, you will find yourself immersed in Vy’s musical and murderous world.

About the Author

The Last Note’s main backdrop, the amazing city of Miami, Florida, is beloved and well-known to me. I was born and raised in Miami, and like the novel’s main character Vy, I am a singer/songwriter, as well as the lead singer to a self-proclaimed cover band. All things relating to music or literature are my passion. I keep a journal, and I am constantly writing poems, stories, and any thought that comes to mind. I have a fascination for black and white films, that have the element of mystery. As I have been told by many, I have a very creative imagination.

Author Links

Website – www.zaidamusic.com

Facebook – www.facebook.com/zaidaauthor

Twitter – www.twitter.com/zaidamusic

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/zaidamusic

Purchase Links: Amazon  | Books2Read

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win a Kindle copy of The Last Note: A Miami Music Mystery

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

October 22 – Varietats – SPOTLIGHT

October 22 – Readeropolis – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 23 – Valerie’s Musings – REVIEW

October 23 – A Holland Reads – GUEST POST

October 24 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

October 24 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 25 – Mallory Heart’s Cozies – REVIEW

October 25 – Mysteries with Character – SPOTLIGHT

October 26 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

October 26 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 27 – The Layaway Dragon – REVIEW

October 27 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

October 28 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST

October 28 – The Book’s the Thing – SPOTLIGHT

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

 

A Crafter Knits a Clue by Holly Quinn – Blog Tour and Giveaway

Synopsis:

For fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, the latest craft frenzy is Holly Quinn’s Handcrafted series debut.

Sammy Kane just moved back to her hometown to run a craft store. But when the owner of a nearby yarn shop is murdered, Sammy will needle little help finding the killer.

When a heartbroken Samantha “Sammy” Kane returns to her hometown of Heartsford, WI, for her best friend Kate’s funeral, she learns that Kate’s much-loved craft store is in danger of perishing with its owner. Confounding all her expectations of the life she would live, Sammy moves back home with her golden retriever and takes over Community Craft. A few doors down Main Street, fellow new arrival Ingrid Wilson has just opened the Yarn Barn, a real “purl” of a shop. But when Sammy strolls over to see if Ingrid could use a little help, she finds Ingrid’s dead body—with a green aluminum knitting needle lodged in her throat. 

Detective Liam Nash is thrown for a loop as every single citizen of Heartsford seems to have a theory about Ingrid’s murder. And nearly everyone in town seems to be a suspect. But the last time Sammy did any sleuthing was as a little moppet. And this is not fun and games. Sammy is eager to help the handsome Liam—who seems to be endlessly inventive in finding reasons to talk with her—and when Liam arrests affable woodworker Miles Danbury, Sammy puts everything on the line to help clear Miles. 

As the case comes dangerously close to unraveling, Sammy must stitch the clues together. But the killer has other plans—and if Sammy’s not careful, she may wind up in a perilous knot in A Crafter Knits a Clue, the first warm and woolly yarn of Holly Quinn’s new Handcrafted mysteries.

Continue reading