Guest Post / Giveaway from Author Ritter Ames

Happy Monday all! I’m pleased to be hosting a guest post from Ritter Ames, author of Counterfeit Conspiracies, today. There’s also a great Rafflecopter giveaway you can enter in honor of her new book and blog tour. Look what you could win: a signed copy of Counterfeit Conspiracies, a 7″ Kindle Fire HD, a movie DVD, a SAS SpyPen with hidden camera, and an Amazon gift card – a $150 value! 🙂

Enter the Giveaway here.

Continue reading

Advertisements

The Library at Mount Char – WAYRW

whatareyoureadingwed

What Are You Reading Wednesdays is a weekly meme hosted by It’s A Reading Thing. To participate, open the book you are currently reading to page 34 (or 34% in your ebook) and answer these three questions.

The Questions are:
1. What’s the name of your current read?

2. Go to page 34 in your book or 34% in your eBook and share a complete sentence. (or two!)

3. Would you like to live in the world that exists within your book? Why or why not?

Now for my answers this week…

1. The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins
The Library at Mount Char

2. I’m going to deviate a little and take my quote form the beginning of the book instead of page 34. I think that after reading the first paragraph of this story, you will either be sucked in with an immediate need to know why (like I was), or you will run the other way, comfortable in the knowledge that this book is not for you. As a little taste of what I’m talking about, here is the opening line….

Carolyn, blood-drenched and barefoot, walked alone down the two-lane stretch of blacktop that the Americans called Highway 78.

3. I’m not that far in yet, which makes it hard to tell. Right now, the story is taking place in the American south, which would be ok, I guess, as long as I wasn’t actually near any of the Librarians in the story. I have a feeling by the end of the book I’ll want to change my answer to a resounding NO!

TTT – Top THREE Tuesday this week

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Every Tuesday they post a new Top Ten list prompt. This week’s prompt is… Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book. I’ve gone back through my list of books read on Goodreads, and apparently I wasn’t very adventurous last year. Sorry for the super-short list this week, but I only see 3 books that don’t fit into one of my preferred genres, which would include any type of mystery / thriller, historical fiction, sci-fi/fantasy (including cyberpunk), horror, romantic suspense, and young adult.

Continue reading

New Release Review – Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon
Try Not to Breathe

Goodreads Description:

For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she finds her purpose again in tackling the mystery of a shocking headline-making crime, still unsolved after fifteen years.

Amy Stevenson was the biggest news story of 1995. Only fifteen years old, Amy disappeared walking home from school one day and was found in a coma three days later. Her attacker was never identified and her angelic face was plastered across every paper and nightly news segment.

Fifteen years later, Amy lies in the hospital, surrounded by 90’s Britpop posters, forgotten by the world until reporter Alex Dale stumbles across her while researching a routine story on vegetative patients.

Remembering Amy’s story like it was yesterday, she feels compelled to solve the long-cold case.

The only problem is, Alex is just as lost as Amy—her alcoholism has cost her everything including her marriage and her professional reputation.

In the hopes that finding Amy’s attacker will be her own salvation as well, Alex embarks on a dangerous investigation, suspecting someone close to Amy.

Told in the present by an increasingly fragile Alex and in dream-like flashbacks by Amy as she floats in a fog of memories, dreams, and music from 1995, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer to a breathtaking conclusion.

Genre: Mystery / Thriller
My Rating: **** (4 stars)

Continue reading

Review / Giveaway – Death of a Nurse by M.C. Beaton (ENDED)

Death of a Nurse by M. C. Beaton
Hamish Macbeth #31

Death of a Nurse (Hamish Macbeth, #31)

Goodreads description:  

M. C. Beaton’s New York Times bestselling Hamish Macbeth series continues with a new mystery featuring Scotland’s most quick-witted but unambitious policeman.
James Harrison has recently moved to a restored hunting lodge in Sutherland with his gorgeous private nurse Gloria Dainty. When Hamish visits Mr. Harrison to welcome him to the neighborhood, the old man treats him very rudely. Gloria apologizes for her employer’s behavior, and Hamish takes the plunge and invites her out for dinner. On the appointed evening, Hamish waits for Gloria at the restaurant. And waits. Gloria never shows up. Four days later, Gloria’s body washes up on the beach near Braikie. Now without a date and without his former policeman Dick Fraser (who left the force to buy a bakery), Hamish must find out who killed the beautiful new resident of Sutherland, and why, before the murderer strikes again….

On sale 2/23/16 from Grand Central Publishing, but available for pre-order now.

Enter the Rafflecopter Giveaway (ENDED) for a chance to win a print copy! (US and Canada addresses only please)

Genre: Cozy Mystery
My Rating: ***** 5 of 5 stars)

Continue reading