The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel


the-book-club-murders-coverSynopsis – 

In a charming cozy mystery series debut, Leslie Nagel’s irrepressible small-town heroine finds that her fellow mystery book club members may be taking their Agatha Christie a bit too literally—and murder a bit too lightly.
Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the stuffy Agathas Book Club in order to cultivate customers among the wealthy elite of Oakwood, Ohio.
 Although mixing with the most influential women in town has its advantages, Charley finds the endless gossip a high price to pay. But after two women with close ties to the Agathas are brutally murdered, everyone falls under threat—and suspicion. When key evidence indicates that both murders are the work of the same hand, Charley realizes that the killer has arranged each corpse in perfect imitation of crime scenes from the Club’s murder mystery reading list. She uses her membership in the Club to convince Detective Marcus Trenault to use her as an inside informant. Not that he could stop her anyway.
 Intelligent, fearless, and every bit as stubborn as Marc is, Charley soon learns the Agathas aren’t the only ones with secrets to protect. Passions explode as she and Marc must race against time to prevent another murder. And if Charley’s not careful, she may find herself becoming the killer’s next plot twist.

Book #1 in the Oakwood Mystery series.

Charley joins a book club in the hope that making friends with the town’s elite will drum up business for her clothing store. She finds that she  isn’t really fitting in with the Agathas, as the members are known, but sticks with it anyway. It isn’t long, however, before murder victims start turning up arranged just like the victims in the novels that the book club is reading. Charley manages to use her status as a member of the club to convince a detective to let her help with the investigation, but puts her own life in danger in the process.

This is a fun start to a new series with a great main character – cozy fans will love it!

You can purchase your own copy at  Amazon | B&N | Kobo | ibook

About the Author


Leslie Nagel is the author of The Book Club Murders, the first novel in the Oakwood Mystery series. She lives in the real city of Oakwood, Ohio, where she teaches writing at a local community college. After the written word, her passions include her husband, her son and daughter, hiking, tennis, and strong black coffee, not necessarily in that order.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram



NOTE: I was provided with a free copy in exchange for an honest review – all opinions expressed are my own.


6 thoughts on “The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s