Body on Baker Street – Guest Post and Giveaway


Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table―dead. 

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

What’s not to love about this series – a Sherlock Holmes themed bookstore, a tea shop, and murder! Gemma and Jayne return for another adventure in this second installment of this wonderful series. Gemma is just as boisterous as always, but Jayne keeps her in check as they try to discover who really killed Renalta Van Markoff. We’re lucky enough to have Jayne here to talk to us today – please read on!

cc44b-divider

Jayne Wilson

From Body on Baker Street, a Sherlock Holmes Bookshop mystery by Vicki Delany

I am so excited! I can’t believe it but my very favourite author is coming to the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop on Saturday.  Renalta Van Markoff  (don’t you just love that name) writes the Hudson and Holmes series about Sherlock Holmes and his smarter partner and lover, Desdemona Hudson.  In these books Mrs. Hudson, you see, only pretends to be the housekeeper.

Isn’t that clever?

I’m Jayne Wilson and I am half-owner, head baker, and manager of Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room at 220 Baker Street, West London, Massachusetts. My business partner (and best friend) Gemma Doyle owns and runs the business next door at number 222, The Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium.

And on Saturday Renalta Van Markoff is giving a talk and doing a singing.

Squee!

We’ll be closing the tea room for the talk, simply because of the expected crowds, but I’m hoping for a big rush after Miss Van Markoff has finished. After all, what goes better with a talk about Sherlock Holmes than a full traditional afternoon tea?

Although Gemma might scoff:

“I try to have at least one scene involving afternoon tea in each of my books. It gives Desdemona and Sherlock a chance to get together and talk over what they’ve learned.”

I refrained from mentioning that I couldn’t imagine Sherlock Holmes, man of action, pipe tobacco, and lover of a seven percent solution, enjoying a cream tea.

Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

I love the books, and I love Desdemona Hudson and the portrayal of Sherlock Holmes, but Gemma has pointed out to me – more than once- that critics and die-hard Sherlockians hate them.  They think Van Markoff has taken excessive liberties with the Great Detective.

Pooh! I know a good story when I read one. I’m not looking for a great work of literature here.

Gemma is worried that Donald Morris, our town’s staunchest Sherlockian, and some of his fellows might cause a disruption at the signing on Saturday.

I’m sure she has nothing to worry about.  It will all go fine.

 Thank you Jayne!

About the Author

Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. She has written more than twenty-five books: clever cozies to Gothic thrillers to gritty police procedurals, to historical fiction and novellas for adult literacy. Under the name of Eva Gates, she writes the Lighthouse Library cozy series for Penguin Random House. Her latest book is Body on Baker Street, the second in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series from Crooked Lane.

Vicki is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada. Her work has been nominated for the Derringer, the Bony Blithe, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, and the Arthur Ellis Awards.

www.vickidelany.com
Facebook: Vicki Delany & Eva Gates
twitter: @vickidelany
and @evagatesauthor

Purchase Links : Amazon |B&N 

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for a chance to win a print copy of Body on Baker Street

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

September 11 – Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf – CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 11 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

September 12 – Valerie’s Musings – REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 12 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

September 13 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 13 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT

September 14 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

September 14 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW

September 15 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

September 15 – Babs Book Bistro – REVIEW

September 16 – Varietats2010 – REVIEW

September 16 – Carole’s Book Corner – REVIEW

September 17 – Bookworm Cafe – REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 17 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

September 18 – CelticLady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

September 18 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST

September 19 – Queen of All She Reads – REVIEW

September 19 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW, GUEST POST

September 20 – Book Babble – REVIEW

September 20 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST

September 21 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – REVIEW

September 21 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

September 22 – Teresa Trent Author Blog – INTERVIEW

September 22 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

September 22 – That’s What She’s Reading – REVIEW

September 23 – Socrates’ Book Reviews – REVIEW

September 23 – Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

September 24 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

September 24 – A Cozy Experience – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

 

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “Body on Baker Street – Guest Post and Giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s