Deep Past by Eugene Linden – Blog Tour and Giveaway (ENDED)


Synopsis: If nature could invent intelligence of our scale in a blink of geologic time, who’s to say it hasn’t been done before…

A routine dig in Kazakhstan takes a radical turn for thirty-two-year-old anthropologist Claire Knowland when a stranger turns up at the site with a bizarre find from a remote section of the desolate Kazakh Steppe. Her initial skepticism of this mysterious discovery gives way to a realization that the find will shake the very foundations of our understanding of evolution and intelligence.

Corrupt politics of Kazakhstan force Claire to take reckless chances with the discovery. Among the allies she gathers in her fight to save herself and bring the discovery to light is Sergei Anachev, a brilliant but enigmatic Russian geologist who becomes her unlikely protector even as he deals with his own unknown crisis.

Ultimately, Claire finds herself fighting not just for the discovery and her academic reputation, but for her very life as great power conflict engulfs the unstable region and an unscrupulous oligarch attempts to take advantage of the chaos.

Drawing on Eugene Linden’s celebrated non-fiction investigations into what makes humans different from other species, this international thriller mixes fact and the fantastical, the realities of academic politics, and high stakes geopolitics—engaging the reader every step of the way.

Deep Past is an interesting blend of archaeological adventure story and thriller. Stuck at a dig that ‘s not necessarily her area of interest (or expertise), Claire jumps at the opportunity to go view some bones that have been found at another location. Realizing that the find may have huge significance, she and her newfound associates must decide how to proceed without attracting the attention of the wrong, corrupt authorities.

There’s no deep science here, but there is enough to let the reader know why the bones are important and to understand why the characters choose to handle things the way they do.  I was drawn in by the interesting find, and the political intrigue kept me reading. Deep Past isn’t a non-stop action thriller, but once I got started I needed to know how it all turned out.

Fans of Michael Crichton or James Rollins should enjoy this story.

About the Author

Eugene Linden is an award-winning journalist and author on science, nature, and the environment. Deep Past draws on his long career in non-fiction as the author of ten books, including his celebrated works on animal intelligence and climate change: Apes, Men, and Language, the New York Times “Notable Book” Silent Partners, and the bestselling The Parrot’s Lament. His book, Winds of Change, which explored the connection between climate change and the rise and fall of civilizations, was awarded the Grantham Prize Special Award of Merit. For many years, Linden wrote about nature and global environmental issues for TIME where he garnered several awards including the American Geophysical Union’s Walter Sullivan Award. He has also contributed to the New York Times, Foreign Affairs, and National Geographic, among many other publications.

Author Link

Website – http://www.eugenelinden.com/

Purchase Links – Amazon – B&N – Rosetta Books

Enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win a print copy of Deep Past by Eugene Linden (US ONLY)

Want an extra chance to win a copy? There is also a Goodreads giveaway going on at the moment! (US ONLY, ends June 6, 2019)

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

May 13 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

May 13 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

May 14 – 4covert2overt ☼ A Place In The Spotlight ☼ – SPOTLIGHT with EXCERPT

May 15 – Books Direct – SPOTLIGHT with EXCERPT

May 15 – Daydreams In The Desert – REVIEW

May 16 – The Cozy Pages – SPOTLIGHT

May 17 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

May 17 – ❧Defining Ways❧ – SPOTLIGHT

May 18 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

May 19 – ⒾⓃⓉⓇⓄⓈⓅⒺⒸⓉⒾⓋⒺ ⓅⓇⒺⓈⓈ – SPOTLIGHT

May 20 – Into the Abyss Reviews – REVIEW

May 20 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

May 21 – Ascroft, eh? – SPOTLIGHT with EXCERPT

May 22 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT  

May 23 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

May 24 – Readeropolis – SPOTLIGHT

May 25 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

May 26 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Deep Past by Eugene Linden – Blog Tour and Giveaway (ENDED)

Leave a Reply to The Cozy Pages Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s